MERLN Institute for Technology-Inspired Regenerative Medicine

You are here

Department Chairs

The MERLN Institute Professors

  • CTR
    Department Chair Full Professor

    For his scientific work, van Blitterswijk has received a number of prestigious international awards including the George Winter award of the European society for Biomaterials, the Career Achievement Award of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society, and election as a member of the KNAW. Clemens van Blitterswijk graduated as cell biologist at Leiden University in 1982 and defended his PhD thesis in 1985 at the same university.

  • cBITE
    Department Chair, Principal Investigator Full professor

    Jan de Boer is a full professor of applied cell biology and the chair of cBITE at the MERLN Institute, University of Maastricht, the Netherlands. Prof. de Boer obtained his PhD in the lab of Jan Hoeijmakers at the Erasmus MC Rotterdam in 1999 on mouse models for premature ageing, after which he worked as a postdoc at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, UK.

  • IBE
    Department Chair, Principal Investigator Full Professor

    The main focus of her research group is on inorganic biomaterials for use in tissue regeneration or as nanoparticles for theranostics, and on high-throughput production and screening approaches for biomaterials based on microfluidics.